North Dakota


At the request of the ND Industrial Commission (comprised of the Governor, the Attorney General, and the Agriculture Commissioner), a task force drafted legislation covering the geologic storage of carbon dioxide. The Task Force was composed of representatives of coal mining, electric generation and transmission, their association, oil and natural gas, their association, the state health department, state mineral resources department and the office of the attorney general. In advance of the 2009 legislative session, the Industrial Commission pre-filed the two bills created by the task force, one covering geologic storage, SB2139 and the other, SB2095, covering pore space. As of this date both bills have passed both houses of the ND legislature and are were signed by Governor Hoeven on April 8, 2009.

Rulemaking was finalized April 1, 2010.

Legislation (passed)
(updated 5/27/2011)

Statistics are estimates provided by the states.